Product details

om247 / Volume 14
Ignaz Mara (1709-1783)
Concerto for viola, strings and b.c.
for va (solo), 2 vl, va and bc
Edited by Phillip Schmidt
Editions*

Even today the sonorous name “Mara” is associated with an internationally renowned singer whose meteoric rise to fame started in the early 1770s when she was engaged by Frederick II of Prussia (1712–1786) as prima donna. The person I am referring to is Gertrud Elisabeth Schmehling (1749–1833), whose exceptional timbre and vocal skills established her reputation as the most outstanding German soprano of her time. She acquired the name by which she became famous through her marriage, in 1773, to the chamber musician Johann Baptist Mara (1744–1808), who was employed by Frederick’s brother, Prince Henry of Prussia (1726–1802). […]
Not much is known about Johann Baptist’s father, Ignaz (Ignatius) Mara (Ignác František Mára). He was baptized on 16 February 1709 in the Bohemian town of Nemecký Brod as Ignaty Frantissek, the son of František Krystyan and Kateržina Rozalia Mara, who had a large number of children beside him. There is no further information about his childhood and musical training. In 1742 Ignaz joined the Prussian court chapel as a violoncellist; as a chamber musician he also took over solo parts. He belonged to the same generation as Georg Czarth (1708 – after 1780) and Franz Benda (1709–1786), who also hailed from Bohemia and served in the Prussian court chapel as violinists. Together with Carl Heinrich Graun (1703/04–1759), Johann Gottlieb Graun (1702/03–1771), Johann Joachim Quantz (1697–1773), Johann Gottlieb Janitsch (1708–1762), Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714–1788), Joseph Benda (1724–1804) and others these musicians made up the core of Prussian court music under Frederick II. […]
It is assumed that the three concertos in A Minor, Wq 170 (H 432), B-flat Major, Wq 171 (H 436), and A Major, Wq 172 (H 439), by C. P. E. Bach, which were composed in the early 1750s and according to current scholarship were originally designated for violoncello, strings and basso continuo (and also exist in versions for harpsichord or flute, strings and basso continuo), were composed for Mara. […]
In the orchestral repertoire of the music archive of the Sing-Akademie zu Berlin, the hitherto unknown early solo concertos for viola, strings and basso continuo are of particularly interest.
Apart from the two viola concertos in E-flat Major by J. G. Graun (GraunWV Av:XIII:28 and GraunWV Cv:XIII:116), the two viola concertos in E-flat Major and C Major by M. H. Grauel, the two viola concertos in F Major and E-flat Major (LorB 314 and 315, both including two horns) by Friedrich Wilhelm Heinrich Benda (1745–1814) and the viola concerto in F Major by Carl Hermann Heinrich Benda (1748–1836), there is also a viola concerto in E-flat Major by Ignaz Mara, transmitted in two contemporary sets of handwritten parts, of which the first served as exemplar for the second, which probably was copied several decades later.
The current source situation and transmission suggest that Mara wrote the solo concerto in E-flat Major for viola; as a composing autograph is missing, it cannot be ruled out that our source represents a contemporary arrangement of a piece originally intended for a different solo instrument. The fact that the composer, a cellist, wrote a concerto for viola, was apparently not unusual at the Prussian court; the violoncellists M. H. Grauel and Christian Friedrich Schale (1713–1800) as well as the double-bass player J. G. Janitsch also composed solo concertos for viola.
For which occasions these concertos were written cannot be ascertained, however, nor do we know whether they were performed in a courtly environment or rather in bourgeois circles, or even in the semi-public music societies newly established in Berlin.
Mara’s concerto is not particularly demanding on the soloist. The piece is comparatively short; it nevertheless demonstrates Mara’s excellent craftsmanship. Together with the above-mentioned concertos by Graun and Grauel it documents the early use of the viola as a solo instrument at the Prussian court, and it certainly is a welcome addition to the late baroque viola repertoire in our modern concert life.

By the preface of Phillip Schmidt  (translated by Stephanie Wollny)    

Go back

Produktdetails

Quellenpublikationen aus dem Archiv der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin
om247 / Band 14
Ignaz Mara (1709-1783)
Konzert für Viola, Streicher und Basso continuo Es-Dur
für Vla (solo), 2 Vl, Va und Bc
Herausgegeben von Phillip Schmidt
Ausgaben*

Der klangvolle Name „Mara“ ist bis in unsere Zeit mit einer international gefeierten Sängerin des 18. Jahrhunderts verbunden, die Anfang der 1770er Jahre in Berlin als Primadonna Friedrichs II. (1712–1786) ihren kometenhaften Aufstieg begann. Die Rede ist von Gertrud Elisabeth Schmehling (1749–1833), deren außergewöhnliche Stimme und Fertigkeiten im Gesang ihren Ruf als herausragendste deutsche Sopranistin ihrer Zeit begründeten. Durch die Vermählung mit Johann Baptist Mara (1744–1808) 1773 erhielt sie den Namen, mit dem sie berühmt wurde. […] 
Johann Baptists Vater war Ignaz (auch Ignatius) Mara (Ignác František Mára), über den nicht viel bekannt ist. Er wurde am 16. Februar 1709 in Nemecký Brod in Böhmen als Sohn von František Krystyan und Kateržina Rozalia Mara unter dem Namen Ignaty Frantissek getauft und entstammte einer kinderreichen Familie. Über seine Kindheit und Jugendjahre oder seine musikalische Ausbildung sind keine näheren Informationen zu gewinnen. 1742 trat Ignaz als Violoncellist in die preußische Hofkapelle ein; außerdem oblagen ihm als Kammermusiker solistische Aufgaben. Er gehörte der Generation der gleichaltrigen Landsmänner Georg Czarth (1708 – nach 1780) und Franz Benda (1709–1786) an, die als Violinisten ebenfalls in der preußischen Hofkapelle ihren Dienst versahen. Diese Musiker bildeten zusammen mit Carl Heinrich Graun (1703/04–1759), Johann Gottlieb Graun (1702/03–1771), Johann Joachim Quantz (1697–1773), Johann Gottlieb Janitsch (1708–1762), Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714–1788), Joseph Benda (1724–1804) und anderen den Kern der preußischen Hofmusik unter Friedrich II. […]
Man nimmt an, dass die drei Anfang der 1750er Jahre entstandenen, nach aktuellem Kenntnisstand wohl ursprünglich für Violoncello, Streicher und Basso continuo komponierten Konzerte in a-Moll, Wq 170 (H 432), B-Dur, Wq 171 (H 436), und A-Dur, Wq 172 (H 439), von C. P. E. Bach – die jeweils auch in Fassungen für Cembalo oder Flöte, Streicher und Basso continuo vorliegen – Mara gewidmet sind. […] Mara starb am 27. September 1783 in Berlin. […]
Die einzigen Kompositionen, die anhand ihrer Zuschreibung relativ sicher Ignaz Mara zugeordnet werden können, sind das Konzert für Viola, Streicher und Basso continuo in Es-Dur und die beiden Solo-Sonaten für Violoncello in D-Dur und A-Dur. […]
Neben den beiden Violakonzerten in Es, GraunWV Av:XIII:28 und GraunWV Cv:XIII:116, von J. G. Graun, den beiden Violakonzerten in Es und C von M. H. Grauel, den beiden Violakonzerten in F und Es, LorB 314 und 315 (jeweils mit zwei Hörnern), von Friedrich Wilhelm Heinrich Benda (1745–1814) und dem Violakonzert in F von Carl Hermann Heinrich Benda (1748–1836) ist auch ein Violakonzert in Es von Ignaz Mara in zwei Abschriften überliefert, wobei die erste Abschrift der vermutlich einige Jahrzehnte jüngeren zweiten als Vorlage diente.
Nach Quellenlage und Überlieferung wurde das Solo-Konzert in Es von Mara für Bratsche komponiert, auch wenn wegen eines nicht vorhandenen Kompositionsautographs nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann, dass es sich um eine zeitgenössische Bearbeitung einer ursprünglich für ein anderes Solo-Instrument vorgesehenen Fassung handelt. Dass der Urheber als Cellist ein Bratschenkonzert schuf, war am preußischen Hof offenbar nicht ungewöhnlich. Auch M. H. Grauel, Christian Friedrich Schale (1713–1800), beide ebenfalls Cellisten, und J. G. Janitsch, Kontraviolonist, komponierten Solo-Konzerte für Bratsche. […]
Das Konzert von Mara stellt in der Solo-Stimme keine besonders hohen Ansprüche an den Solisten. Es ist auch ein verhältnismäßig kurzes Werk, das seinen Schöpfer aber als einen handwerklich versierten Komponisten ausweist. Neben den oben genannten Konzerten von Graun und Grauel belegt es die frühe Pflege der Bratsche als Solo-Instrument am preußischen Hof und ist in jedem Fall geeignet, das spätbarocke Repertoire für Bratsche im modernen Konzertleben zu bereichern.

Aus dem Vorwort von Phillip Schmidt

Zurück